top of page
Marjorie K. Eastman News Article
The Tennessean article on Marjorie K. Eastman.

Meet the 2016 Leadership Nashville Class

Leadership Nashville takes in 44 of the city's leaders, from a judge to a restaurant group owner, to help further their roles in the community in its 2016 class.


Chosen from 215 applicants, these leaders will touch on issues from crime to health to entertainment in a nine-month program, beginning in September.


"We do not attempt to pass out solutions," Jerry B. Williams, executive director of the program, said in a statement.


"Instead, we expose them to various viewpoints on each issue, believing that Nashville will be stronger because decisions these leaders make in the future will come from a broadened, enlightened perspective."

The class includes:

Lawson C. Allen

President of Lee Danner & Bass Inc.


Jill Austin

Chief Marketing Officer and Assistant Vice Chancellor of Vanderbilt University Medical Center


Grace Awh

Community Volunteer


William Biggs

Director of Affordable Housing with the Metropolitan Housing & Development Agency


Stephen Bland

CEO of Metropolitan Nashville Transit Authority


Sheila Calloway

Judge in the Juvenile Court of Davidson County


Dr. Ravi Chari

Senior Vice President of Clinical Excellence at Hospital Corporation of America


Rene D. Copeland

Producing Artistic Director at Nashville Repertory Theatre


Elizabeth DeBauche

Commissioner of the Ohio Valley Conference


Parag Desai

Senior Vice President of Strategy and Shared Services at Genesco


Kerry Dunn

President-Elect of Junior League of Nashville


Marjorie Eastman

President and COO of the YWCA of Nashville and Middle Tennessee


Rod Essig

Vice President of the Creative Artists Agency


Paul Gilbert

Executive Vice President and Chief Legal Officer at Lifepoint Health


Glenda B. Glover

PhD, President of Tennessee State University


Max R. Goldberg

Co-Owner of Strategic Hospitality


Linda Claire Guttery

President of the Junior Chamber of Commerce


S. Marcela Gomez

President of Hispanic Marketing Group


Charles K. Hannon, Jr.

Executive Vice President of Healthcare Banking at First Tennessee Bank


Danny J. Herron

President and CEO of the Nashville Area Habitat for Humanity


Daniel P. Hogan

President and CEO of Medalogix


Kelly S. Holmes

Senior Vice President and Commercial Team Leader at SunTrust Bank

Gordon G. Howey, Jr.

Captain of the Youth Services Division with the Metro Nashville Police Department


Jennifer L. Hutcheson

Senior Vice President and Corporate Controller at Ryman Hospitality Properties Inc.


Jan D. Maddox

Director of Business Operations at Deloitte Services, LP


Charles Mader

Senior Vice President and Regional Mortgage Sales Manager at Regions Bank


Andrew Maraniss
Partner at McNeely Pigott & Fox


Shaka Mitchell

Regional Director for Tennessee at Rocketship Education


John Murfee

Private Client Adviser at Bank of America U.S. Trust


Anna-Gene O'Neal

President and CEO of Alive Hospice


Carolyn W. Schott

Shareholder at Sherrard & Roe


Bernard J. Sherry

President at Saint Thomas West & Midtown Hospitals


Joshua H. Smith

Owner of The Standard Club at Smith House


Kelly Miller Smith, Jr.

Pastor at First Baptist Church, Capitol Hill


John R. Tarpley

Shareholder of Lewis Thomason King Krieg & Waldrop


Gatluak T. Thach

President and CEO at Nashville International Center for Empowerment


Wendy J. Thompson

Vice Chancellor on the Tennessee Board of Regents


Emilie M. Townes

Dean of the Divinity School at Vanderbilt University


Doreen Wade

General Manager at WSMV-TV 4


Larry Whisenant

Senior Vice President and Client Services Manager at Pinnacle Financial Partners


Lisa Wiltshire

Director of Early Learning Innovation with Metro Nashville Public Schools


Matthew Wright

President at Disciplina Group


Helena W. Yarbrough

Associate General Counsel at Bridgestone America


Alan Young

President of Armor Concepts

To view the article on The Tennessean website.

bottom of page